Half Ironman Training: Weeks 1-2

2015 is bringing me a new challenge…triathlon!  Last year I signed up to complete my first Half Ironman race in June of this year.  My first two weeks of training are done and I decided that to help hold myself more accountable I am going to start updating my workouts on here every week.  My plan calls for 20 weeks of training before completing the Ironman Eagleman on June 14 in Cambridge, MD.

WEEK 1:
January 26:
OFF DAY!
January 27:
AM: 1600m Swim (with drills)
PM: 5.17 Mile Run (7:46 min/mile):40 minute Fartlek Run (with 6 30 second sprints throughout)
January 28:
PM: 35 Minute Stationary Bike Ride:12 miles
January 29:
AM: 6000m row:30 minute cross training at lunch.
PM: 2100m Swim (with drills): Focused on Endurance Speed
January 30:
AM:1800m Swim (LONG): 1,200 meters without stopping with a short warm-up and cool-down
January 31: INDOOR BRIC
AM: Hour Stationary Bike Session: went 20.6 miles
AM: 7.17 Mile Run (7:42 min/mile): 55 minute track run
February 1:
AM: 95 Minute Stationary Bike Ride: Went 40.4 miles

WEEK 2:
February 2:
AM: 1900m Swim (with drills)
PM: 5.33 Mile Run (7:32 minute/mile): 40 minute Fartlek run (with 8 30 second sprints throughout)
February 3:
OFF DAY!!!
February 4:
PM: Hour Stationary Bike Ride: 16.0 miles
February 5:
PM: 30 Minute Stationary Bike Ride: 8.70 miles
PM: 3.75 Mile Run (8:00 min/mile): 30 minute tempo run
February 6:
AM: 2100m Swim (with drills)
February 7:
AM: 1900m Swim (LONG): 1,500 meters without stopping with a short warm-up and cool-down
February 8: OUTDOOR BRIC!
AM: 90 Minute Bike Ride: 21.1 miles
AM: 4 Mile Slow Run (8:27 min/mile): Steady run after the ride.

Once the weather warms up I will do most of my bike rides in the mornings as part of my commute to work which will alleviate some of the long days that I now must have trying to fit in long indoor rides after work.  I have come to actually enjoy my morning swims and I can already tell they have helped a lot.

I must admit that although I have had some early mornings and some early nights during these first two weeks, I have really enjoyed myself.  I have pushed myself hard and have grown a lot in a short amount of time.  I have learned a lot about training, nutrition and hard work that I hope will allow me to become even better in the coming weeks.

-Runner

Leave a Reply

