Virginia Beach In March

I don’t have much experience with beaches cold weather. However, Runner and I love visiting Virginia Beach, so we decided to give it a try last weekend. Our friend Kathleen was running in the Shamrock Half Marathon and inspired Runner to sign up – check out his race review.

We headed down on Friday night after work. We knew 5:30pm was a horrible time to leave DC but we really just wanted to get there! Luckily we were able to travel in the Express Lanes, which I believe saved us some time. Runner has a thing for Hardee’s so that was our dinner. We arrived in Williamsburg just in the nick of time to enjoy a stuffed sno ball at Sno-to-Go. Lucky for us they were having a first day of Spring special. This is a crucial pit stop, do not miss it! (Except on Sundays)

tigersblood

Tigers Blood – coconut and mixed berries, so good!

With our discounted treats in our bellys we hit the road for one more hour to the beach. We checked into our hotel by 10pm. We stayed at the Sundial Inn. For those who want to save money and not sacrifice location – this was a steal! The worst part about the room was that it smelled like cigarette smoke, however, it was one block from the beach and 10 blocks from the half marathon finish line. I think it is now our official Virginia Beach hotel because we stayed in the exact same room as when we visited last Labor Day during the Rock n Roll marathon.

On Saturday morning, Runner left to watch Kathleen in the 8K. I was fast asleep (this was a mini-vacay afterall). I met up with Runner as the race was finishing up for a tasty breakfast at the Honey Bee Restaurant. Yum! It hit the spot. Later that morning we drove over to the convention center for the expo. I had low expectations for the expo, but I was quite impressed. I was looking for some running sunglasses and had a pleathora of options. Runner found a bib plaque that he really liked… so I’m thinking that will be a gift sometime in the future. We even got to try a smoothie from McDonalds. I loved all the St. Patrick’s gear they had for sale. I think it’s fun to celebrate a holidBeachSunriseay at a race.

Ok, now here is where it gets fun. That afternoon I made Runner run with me on the boardwalk. I know he was super worried about getting over worked – but he had nothing to worry about, we did an 11-12min/mile pace for 3 miles. It made our time by the ocean a lot warmer!

How is my training going? We’ll my official plan had me scheduled to run 9 miles – but that was not going to happen. The past couple weeks my knee has been bothering me. So, I’ve taken a rest from running and really focused on strength training. Hopefully, I’ll be able to ramp up my mileage again soon! Later that evening we did a little shopping and finished up with the pre-race dinner of Chik-fil-a.

The morning of the race, Sunday, Runner left early to walk to the starting line of the race. I took my time getting ready and enjoyed my morning coffee on the beach one more time.

The finish line was crowded with spectators, but I didn’t have to wait long because Runner finished the race with the top 10% and a PR! I was super impressed! At the post-race party there was Irish stew and cold beer for the finishers. Props to Yuengling for supplying the racers with FOUR free beers, wow. That wrapped up our short and sweet weekend getaway. While we have an upcoming trip to Williamsburg planned in April, it will be a while until we make it to Virginia Beach again. Good thing we made some great memories there!

AfterParty

One thought on “Virginia Beach In March

Leave a Reply

