Gear Review: Strength Training for Triathletes

I have a confession to make….I am a reader!!!

I believe that reading about exercises, training plans/programs and the stories of the great endurance athletes of the past and present has allowed me to become a better athlete than just training would allow.  Being a law student doesn’t give me much time to read, but I always squeeze in time to read my own books everyday, even if it just before bed.

One of the most beneficial books that I have read regarding triathlon training is “Strength Training for Triathletes” by Patrick Hagerman and printed by Velo Press.  The book is not big, and it is not a good door stop but instead it is a quick read that you can keep around and use every day when you are training, and every day during the off season.  The book goes through all aspects of how to incorporate strength training, why it is so important for any athlete.

The most useful part of the book are the pages and pages that it devotes to showing you exercises specifically targeting the muscle groups used most in each of the three disciplines of triathlon (it also has a section of core workouts).  It covers both arm and leg workouts for each discipline and provides pictures and explanations.

I keep this book in my gym bag, almost all the time.  I will look at it before I go to the gym to get an idea of what exercises to do today, and will even be that guy who pulls it out at the gym to get some more ideas. If you are looking to improve your times, improve your fitness or improve your physique I would recommend doing strength training and I cannot recommend a better book to start with!

Leave a Reply

