A Time of Change

In the endurance sports routine, there is not often where you can immediately feel how a few days affect your athletic life for the foreseeable future.  Starting last Thursday and going through this Sunday is one of those periods!

Last week I made a decision that I will appreciate, hate, enjoy and regret between now and April.  I decided to register for Ironman Texas on April 28!


When I suffered my injury last September I was just weeks away from completing Ironman Louisville and have not felt comfortable signing up for another race until now. I always knew I would sign up for another race but I wanted to wait until I felt like I was prepared to do so, and I know that time is now!

One main reason why I know I am prepared for my Ironman journey to begin again is because for the last four months I have been training for the 40th Chicago Marathon this Sunday!  Although my training has not been my best, and I am definitely not aiming for a PR at the race, I know I am back and will be able to continue to build my strength through April.  When I cross that finish line on Sunday in Millenium Park I will complete one giant step towards my recovery.  The training has shown me how important a continuous training cycle is to race performance.

The training has shown me how important a continuous training cycle is for performance.  I have been continuously working towards this initial goal since my physical therapy started soon after my injury.  That training, even if it was just for recovery set up the base that I have continued to build on.  I know that going into my Ironman training this base will allow me to face the 140.6 miles in April with confidence.

-Runner

Leave a Reply

