The couple that spins together…

stays together?! Haha, yes, Runner and I are that couple at the gym. Just last weekend we attended a two hour indoor spinning class called Cycle120. We also enjoy the 45 minute version on Thursday mornings at 6:15 am.

I have to say that I really enjoy getting to go to the gym with a friend, even if he is really competitive and kicks my butt! He’s usually one of only a few guys in the class. Girls usually dominate group fitness classes and this one is no exception. However, this year Runner has encouraged some of his classmates to come out which has made the class even more fun.

Our classroom is in a re-purposed racquetball court. There are only 24 bikes so in order to attend the class you have to pre-register online. Some instructors are more popular than others, and their classes fill up fast. Our favorite instructor motivates us with her ripped muscles and motivational speaking  – “You are here this morning because you are a high achiever.” I mean, who wouldn’t want to wake up to that ego boost?!

I enjoy the class because you can choose your own intensity. Yes, the bike seats are uncomfortable and sometimes you feel like you might die.  But, its easy to get lost in the music and just focus on yourself.  I usually make it about 10 miles in 45 minutes. I find that I have trouble getting my resistance up very high but I know with each workout my legs are getting stronger.

Finishing the workout by 7 am is a huge perk and we never have any guilt stopping by Dunkin Donuts on the way home.

 

Leave a Reply

